Lexus ISF / IS-F / LFA / LF-A  Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
I have some experience with winter driving my F but with some Bridgestone re-11's. While these are excellent tires, they are absolutely awful in the snow. We don't get that much snow out here in Seattle area to warrant dedicated snow tires.

I noticed your picture and it looks like HWY 55 is that right? Just asking because I was born and raised in MN and drove that road many many times.

GO VIKES!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Yeah I miss the big snow days in MN. I remember the 91 snowstorm and love the snowfall. If I were to move back to MN then I would have to consider selling the F. Lets hope that I am able to keep her and get another vehicle to drive in the snow by that time.

Actually I can see the highway sign and make out a 55. other than that I can't tell what is what. I am in the army and have not lived in MN since 03.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I am rolling on Continental DWS tires, which are not dedicated winter tires like the Blizzaks. They have done reasonably well in light snow though. Last week I was unfortunate enough to be in Virginia when it snowed a few inches unexpectedly. It was the worst traffic I have ever seen, and it took me 8 hours to drive home 50 miles bumper to bumper.

The ISF does well in the snow except starting on steep hills...and creeping forward in the snow in a bumper to bumper traffic jam. The front brakes seem to hurt the slow speed snow performance. When I would stop, the front brakes would lock at 1 mph and the car would slide forward and a little to the side a foot or so. When starting up again I had to abruptly let off the brake, not gently let off...otherwise the front brake still had a little pressure on it and the rear end would start to push the car sideways at idle.